KPL Staff has compiled a list of Read-a-like books for the top circulating books of 2018 for adult, teen and juvenile reads! If you love one of the books on this list make sure to check out one of its read-a-likes.

Adult Fiction

No One is Coming to Save Us by Stephanie Powell Watts
Read-a-Likes:
An American Marriage by Tayari Jones
Sing, Unburied, Sing by Jesmyn Ward
Queenie by Candice Carty-Williams
The Old Drift by Namwali Serpell

The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah
Read-a-Likes:
The Falconer by Dana Czapnik
Lost Children Archive by Valeria Luiselli
The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls by Anissa Gray
Normal People by Sally Rooney

Small Great Things: A Novel by Jodi Picoult
Read-a-Likes:
Them by Nathan McCall
Run by Ann Patchett
Midwives by Chris Bohjalian
The Au Pair by Emma Rous

A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles
Read-a-Likes:
Bowlaway by Elizabeth McCracken
Mostly Dead Things by Kristen Arnett

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah
Read-a-Likes:
The Alice Network by Kate Quinn
The Lost Girls of Paris by Pam Jenoff

Adult Nonfiction

Killers of the Flower Moon: the Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI by David Grann
Read-a-Likes:
Burned: A True Story of Murder and the Crime That Wasn’t by Edward Humes

Fire and Fury: Inside the Trump White House by Michael Wolff
Read-a-Likes:
Let Me Finish by Chris Christie
The Case for Trump by Victor Davis Hanson,
America by Alan Axelrod, Ph. D.
Fear: Trump in the White House by Bob Woodward

Becoming by Michelle Obama
Read-a-Likes:
Educated: A Memoir by Tara Westover
Born Bright: A Young Girl’s Journey from Nothing to Something in America by C. Nicole Mason
Queen of the World: Elizabeth II: Sovereign and Stateswoman by Robert Hardman

The Gentle Art of Swedish Death Cleaning: How to Free Yourself and Your Family from a Lifetime of Clutter by Margareta Magnusson
Read-a-Likes:
Homebody: A Guide to Creating Spaces You Never Want to Leave by Joanna Gaines
The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing by Marie Kondo
The Magnolia Story by Chip Gaines and Joanna Gaines
Whiskey in a Teacup: What Growing Up in the South Taught Me About Life, Love, and Baking Biscuits by Reese Witherspoon

Braving the Wilderness: The Quest for True Belonging and the Courage to Stand Alone by Brené Brown
Read-a-Likes:
Daring Greatly: How the Courage to Be Vulnerable Transforms the Way We Live, Love, Parent, and Lead by Brené Brown
Better Than Before by Gretchen Rubin
The Truths We Hold: An American Journey by Kamal Harris

Teen Fiction

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
Read-a-Likes:
I Am Alfonso Jones by Tony Medina
Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds
Dear Martin by Nic Stone

Turtles All the Way Down by John Green
Read-a-Likes:
Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman
All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
Piecing Me Together by Renée Watson

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys
Read-a-Likes:
The Librarian of Auschwitz by Antonio Iturbe
Bamboo People by Mitali Perkins
Refugee by Alan Gratz

Projekt 1065: A Novel of World War II by Alan Gratz
Read-a-Likes:
Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys
Code Name: Verity by Elizabeth Wein
The Boy in Striped Pajamas by John Boyne

The Outsiders by S. E. Hinton
Read-a-Likes:
All American Boys by Jason Reynolds and Brendan Kiely
American Street by Ibi Aanu Zoboi
I am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter by Erika L. Sánchez

Teen Nonfiction

Far from the Tree: Parents, Children and the Search for Identity by Andrew Solomon
Read-a-Likes:
The 57 Bus: A True Story of Two Teenagers and the Crime That Changed Their Lives by Dashka Slater
If Only by Jennifer Gilmore
You Don’t Know Me But I Know You by Rebecca Barrow
Hey, Kiddo by Jarrett J. Krosoczka

Popular: Vintage Wisdom for a Modern Geek by Maya Van Wagenen
Read-a-Likes:
Tomboy: A Graphic Memoir by Liz Prince
Going Vintage by Lindsey Leavitt
Failing Up: How to Take Risks, Aim Higher, and Never Stop Learning by Leslie Odom Jr.

The Code Book: How to Make It, Break It, Hack It, Crack It by Simon Singh
Read-a-Likes:
Google it : A History of Google by Anna Crowley Redding
Game On! : Video Game History from Pong and Pac-Man to Mario, Minecraft, and More by Dustin Hansen
Code Girls : The Untold Story of the American Women Code Breakers of World War II by Liza Mundy

Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption by Bryan Stevenson
Read-a-Likes:
Becoming Ms. Burton by Cari Lynn and Susan Burton
Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card by Sara Saedi
We Are Not Yet Equal : Understanding Our Racial Divide by Carol Anderson

I Will Always Write Back: How One Letter Changed Two Lives by Caitlin Alifirenka, Liz Welch, and Martin Ganda
Read-a-Likes:
I Am Malala: the Girl Who Stood Up For Education and Was Shot by the Taliban by Malala Yousafzai
Laughing at My Nightmare by Shane Burcaw
#NotYourPrincess: Voices of Native American Women

Juvenile Fiction 

Save Me a Seat by Gita Varadarajan and Sarah Weeks
Read-a-Likes:
The Parker Inheritance by Varian Johnson
Front Desk by Kelly Yang
Hello Universe by Erin Entrada Kelly

Counting Thyme by Melanie Conklin
Read-a-Likes:
Ghosts by Raina Telgemeier
The War that Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
Forever, or a Long Long Time by Caela Carter

Ghost by Jason Reynolds
Read-a-Likes:
The Stars Beneath Our Feet by David Barclay Moore
The Season of Styx Malone by Kekla Magoon
Hurricane Child by Kheryn Callender
So Done by Paula Chase

The Seventh Wish by Kate Messner
Read-a-Likes:
The Key To Extraordinary by Natalie Lloyd
Soar by Joan Bauer
The First Rule of Punk by Celia C. Pérez

Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library by Chris Grabenstein
Read-a-Likes:
The Book Scavenger by Jennifer Chambliss
Masterminds by Gordon Korman
Three Times Lucky by Sheila Turnage

Juvenile Nonfiction

Minecraft: Redstone Handbook: An Official Mojang Book by Nick Farwell
Read-a-Likes:
Coding Games in Scratch: A Step-by-Step Visual Guide to Building Your Own Computer Games by Jon Woodcock
Minecraft: Guide to Exploration

Star Wars Encyclopedia of Starfighters and Other Vehicles by Landry Walker
Read-a-Likes:
Star Wars: Absolutely Everything You Need to Know, Updated and Expanded by Adam Bray
The Complete Star Wars Visual Dictionary
Lego Star Wars Visual Dictionary

The Disney Princess Cookbook
Read-a-Likes:
The Minnie & Friends Cookbook
One World Kids Cookbook by Sean Mendez
Disney Princess Enchanted Character Guide by Catherine Saunders and Beth Landis Hester

First Big Book of Space by Catherine D. Hughes
Read-a-Likes:
ABCs from Space: A Discovered Alphabet by Adam Voiland
Space Encyclopedia: A Tour of Our Solar System and Beyond by David Aguilar
The Space Adventurer’s Guide: Your Passport to the Coolest Things to See and Do in the Universe by Peter McMahon
First Space Encyclopedia by Caroline Bingham
Word Book : Learning the Words in Your World

First Big Book of the Ocean by Catherine D. Hughes
Read-a-Likes:
The Big Book of the Blue by Yuval Zommer
Ultimate Oceanpedia : The Most Complete Ocean Reference Ever by Christina Wilsdon
Little Kids First Big Book of Why 2 by Jill Esbaum
Secrets of the Sea by Kate Baker
Little Kids First Big Book of Weather by Karen de Seve

Picture Books

The Duckling Gets a Cookie!? by Mo Willems
Read-a-Likes:
Cookiesaurus Rex by  Amy Fellner Dominy
Rude Cakes by Rowboat Watkins
I Have a Balloon by Ariel Bernstein

Pete the Cat and the Missing Cupcakes by James Dean and Kimberly Dean
Read-a-Likes:
Secret Pizza Party by Adam Rubin
The Case of the Missing Eyebrow by Angela Keoghan
I Want My Hat Back by Jon Klassen
The Detective Dog by Julia Donaldson

Mother Bruce by Ryan T. Higgins
Read-a-Likes:
We Don’t Eat Our Classmates by Ryan T. Higgins
Stegothesaurus by Bridget Heos
Crunch the Shy Dinosaur by Cirocco Dunlap

What Pet Should I Get? by Dr. Seuss
Read-a-Likes:
The Whale in My Swimming Pool by Joyce Wan
You Don’t Want a Unicorn by Ame Dyckman
Sterling, Best Dog Ever by Aidan Cassie

The Day the Crayons Came Home by Drew Daywalt
Read-a-Likes:
Shh! We Have A Plan by Chris Haughton
This Book Just Ate My Dog by Richard Byrne
Once Upon a Cool Motorcycle Dude by Kevin O’Malley

Ellen Gurski is a Reference Librarian for the Kirkwood Public Library. She has been with the library since April 2014. Some of her favorite authors include Tamora Pierce, Jane Austen and C.S. Lewis. She spends her time reading and watching Science Fiction TV shows.